Astor Story

The Astor House Hotel (formerly known as the Richards Hotel) is located to the north side of Waibaidu Bridge, a well-known landmark at the Bund, Shanghai. The hotel was built in 1846 (the 26th year of Daoguang reign) by a British man, Richards. It was the first western hotel in China, and enjoyed the reputation of "the finest hotel in China".

The Astor House Hotel is a distinguished gathering place for both Chinese and foreign political figures, as well as well-known celebrities. Dignitaries such as Albert Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, Russell, and Zhou Enlai, have all stayed at this hotel. The Astor House Hotel is a place where Chinese culture and western civilization converged. The first electric lamp, the first telephone, the first semi-sound film, and the first Western-style social dance all made their debut in China at the Astor House Hotel.

The present Astor House Hotel is well facilitated, including standard rooms, restaurants, unique bars, and conference rooms. It not only retains the classical and Victorian architectural style, but also added Executive Rooms, Celebrities’ Rooms, featured services, and modern facilities, such as satellite TV, broadband Internet access, and so on.

The Peacock Hall, which had long enjoyed the reputation of “the finest ballroom in the Far East” and was the Shanghai Stock Exchange trading floor, remains flawless after the elaborate restoration. With an area of 500 square meters and a high ceiling of 10 meters, it is a multi-functional hall capable of holding large-scale conferences, fancy banquets, buffets, fashion shows, and dances.

礼查故事

浦江饭店(原名礼查饭店),位于上海著名地标外滩外白渡桥北堍。饭店始建于1846年(清道光二十六年),由英国人Richards创建,是中国最早的西商饭店,享有“华夏第一店”的美誉。

浦江饭店是中外政要、世界名人的荟翠之所,爱因斯坦、卓别林、罗素、周恩来等名人政要都曾经下榻于此。浦江饭店又是近代中西方文明交会的窗口,中国第一盏电灯,第一部电话、第一场半有声电影,第一次西式交谊舞会等都诞生在这里。

如今的浦江饭店,客房、餐饮、特色酒吧、会议设施等一应俱全。不仅保留了古典意蕴和维多利亚建筑风格的楼宇,更增添了行政房、名人房以及卫星收视、宽带上网等功能与特色兼备的服务产品和现代化设施。

曾经久负盛名的原远东第一交谊舞厅、上海证券交易所交易大厅——孔雀厅经过精心修缮,依然完好如初,面积达500平米,天花挑高10米,是一个集大型会议、高档宴会、冷餐会、时装秀、舞会等与一体的多功能厅。